In 2018, we launched the Content manager role, making it easier to manage files in shared drives. Currently, content managers have the ability to edit, reorganize, and delete shared drive content, but they cannot share folders in shared drives.
Starting today, admins will see a new shared drive setting that can be enabled or disabled to give content managers the ability to share folders in shared drives.
In February 2023, all content managers will have the ability to share folders by default. If you’d like this feature to remain off for end users, disable the setting now.
Admins and end users
Why it matters
Enabling content managers to share folders is a highly requested feature that will help organizations better manage access to their data.
We will provide an update in February 2023 with the exact date that all content managers will have the ability to share folders by default.
- This setting is currently ON by default. To disable the setting for content managers to share folders, go to the "Sharing settings" in the Drive and Docs section of the Admin Console > scroll to the "Shared drive creation" section > change the "Allow content managers to share folders" setting to OFF.
- Note: If enabled, Content managers will be able to share folders starting in February 2023.
- Visit the Help Center to learn more about managing shared drives as an admin.
- End users: If enabled by your admin, content managers can share folders starting February 2023. Visit the Help Center to learn more about shared drives.
- Rapid Release and Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) starting on December 8, 2022
End user setting:
- Rapid Release and Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) starting in February 2023
- Available to Google Workspace Essentials, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Fundamentals, Education Plus, Education Standard, the Teaching and Learning Upgrade, and Nonprofits, as well as legacy G Suite Business customers
- Not available to Google Workspace Business Starter, Frontline, and legacy G Suite Basic customers
- Not available to users with personal Google Accounts